Facebook Page view
Distant Journeys

0808 273 6872

Call free: 0808 273 6872

Monday - Friday 9 - 5.30, Saturday 9 - 5

Wallaby – wildlife you can meet on your Australia holidays with Distant Journeys

Fun facts about the lovable wallaby

Home Icon Fun facts about the lovable wallaby

One of the main draws of our Australia holidays is the chance to encounter some incredible wildlife, such as kangaroos, koalas, and of course, the lovable wallaby. Before you head down under, get to know these interesting creatures a little better with our wallaby fact file.

The name ‘wallaby’ derives from a word used by the Eora Aboriginal tribe, the indigenous people native to the area we now know as Sydney.

Wallabies are native to Australia, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea, though they are of course best associated with Australia.

There are currently blurred boundaries around what exactly constitutes a wallaby. Generally, a wallaby is a macropod not considered large enough to be a kangaroo and has not been classed as some other species. They are generally smaller and stockier than kangaroos. Over 30 different types of wallabies can be found throughout Australia, and vary between habitat, including mountainous regions, grasslands and forests.

Wallabies are herbivores, feeding on grasses and plants. Over time they have adapted so that they have elongated faces with plenty of room for their large, flat teeth to chew their vegetarian meals.

Just like kangaroos, wallabies also hop to move about, and hopping is the best way to cover long distances in places which offer little food or water. However, they can only hop forwards, and not backwards.

If you’re looking to seeing wallabies in action, the best time is early in the morning or late in the evening, as most wallabies are nocturnal, meaning that they will be out looking for food at night. You may still be able to spot them during the day, however it is more than likely that they will simply be resting in the shade.

Image: jjron, available under Creative Commons

Leave a Reply

feefo 99% of our customers are happy with our service

of our customers are
happy with our service

  • ‘From the very first phone call we made they have delivered excellent service – friendly, reassuring, professional and nothing was too much for them to do’
    Mr & Mrs Payne, West Yorkshire

    Mr & Mrs Payne, Wonders of Australia
  • ‘Great holiday, we had the freedom to do our own thing when it suited as well as a range of excursions when we needed them. The Ghan train and the Great Barrier Reef experiences were first class’ Mr & Mrs Parry, Cheshire

    Mr & Mrs Parry, Wonders of Australia

Order your FREE brochure

Three simple steps to requesting your brochure:

  1. Choose to download or receive your brochure by post
  2. Select your brochure
  3. Complete your details and click submit

Australia & New Zealand
2019 / 2020

Australia & New Zealand 2019 / 2020

2019 / 2020

India 2019 / 2020

South Africa
2019 / 2020

South Africa 2019 / 2020

2019 / 2020

China 2019 / 2020

Australia, New Zealand, South Africa & India 2018 / 2019

Australia, New Zealand, South Africa & India 2018 / 2019

  • Title



  • Address


    Email address

  • Where did you hear about Distant Journeys?

    Which destination are you interested in?

    When are you interested in travelling?

    Yes please! Send me occasional emails about touring holidays around the world including special offers and new tours.