Service :++
Product:++

Service rating : Efficient service. Any questions I had were dealt with promptly. Have already recommended Distant Journey to friends and family.
Product : The new Zealand tour was a wonderful experience. Out tour guide/ driver was brilliant. Not only was he a very good driver, but he was also friendly, helpful and had a vast knowledge of the country.


On 16-Mar-2019 the supplier responded:
Thank you for your review and your kind words! It's great to read that your Coach Captain looked after you so well and you had an amazing time in New Zealand.

Service :++
Product:++

Service rating : Always very pleasant to talk to and they answered any queries we had about the holiday.
Product : Another excellent holiday from distant journeys. Ken our driver was excellent very knowledgeable and helpful. Lots of wonderful experiences.


On 16-Mar-2019 the supplier responded:
Thank you for your kind comments. We really appreciate you taking time to write a review, and we're delighted you enjoyed your holiday so much.

Service :++
Product:++

Service rating : The service was excellent throughout.
A brilliant holiday that went very smoothly
Product : As it was a perfect trip. New Zealand is fantastic destination.


On 16-Mar-2019 the supplier responded:
It's lovely to read that you had a brilliant holiday - many thanks for your kind review. Best wishes.

Service :++
Product:++

Service rating : They Kept in regular contact, phone answered immediately if I called them and no assortment of numbers to press to get through to a human being. Nothing was too much trouble and when I had to email them from Bali with a query they replied almost immediately and responded positively.
Product : Fantastic holiday with so much included, and well organised. We have taken so many memories away.


On 14-Mar-2019 the supplier responded:
That's great to hear - thank you so much for your kind review. I'm glad our staff were able to resolve your query when you were in Bali, and that you have some wonderful memories of your holiday.

Service :++
Product:++

Service rating : always very helpful, no issues whatsoever
Product : the best holiday we have ever been on, and we've had lots of good holidays in the past


On 14-Mar-2019 the supplier responded:
Thank you so much for your kind review, we're delighted to read that it was the best holiday you've ever been on. High praise indeed! Thank you once again.

Service :++
Product:NYT

This is our 2nd Distant Journeys trip and it was as well organised as the first. This time we went to New Zealand and what our coach captain, Ken Johns, didn’t know about his country probably wasn’t worth knowing. The whole experience from the booking to the travelling was well managed. We would definitely recommend Distant Journeys and will be travelling with them again in the future.


On 14-Mar-2019 the supplier responded:
Thank you for your review, and we're so glad you enjoyed New Zealand as much as you did your previous tour. Ken is a star and certainly a credit to his country. It's great that you would recommend us to others and we look forward to the pleasure of your company on a future occasion.

Service :+
Product:+

Service rating : Kept us informed
Product : A very interesting experience leaving us with great memories


On 04-Mar-2019 the supplier responded:
Thank you for your comments, glad we could help you make some lasting memories.

Service :++
Product:NYT

Chris Hern the driver guide was exceptional. He kept us entertained with his knowledge of history geography and current affairs with a wonderful dry sense of humour. He also helped ensured everyone got on the tours they wanted and looked after medical issues and any other problems.
He made our holiday and I know all 43 on the coach felt the same way.


On 25-Feb-2019 the supplier responded:
What can we say in response to such high praise Mr Corkery? We take great pride in our Tour Managers, for the very reasons you have pointed out, and your kind words will be passed back to Chris, who will undoubtedly be pleased that he could help make your holiday so memorable.

Service :-
Product:NYT

My husband and I have taken guided tours in many countries and we are sorry to say this was the most expensive to date and the most disappointing. All the previous tours, mostly with Riviera, we had a bus driver, a guide and then sometimes a local guide as well. On this tour they only provide a bus driver who they give the title of 'Tour Captain'. The bus driver was a lovely man and a safe driver but he was just a bus driver. He did not have the knowledge or the personality to be a tour guide. In our opinion it is impossible to safely drive a bus and give full information while he is driving.

When we visited any place of interest he gave us very little information and then we were left to our own devises and told what time to be back on the bus, which he never left. We were not the only ones on the tour to feel we were just left floundering.... If we were lucky on such drop offs we found a tour guide to eavesdrop on to learn about the place of interest. There was constant confusion about the planned day, lots of travelling with no idea what time the stop times would be, making it hard to gauge toilet breaks, meals and snacks.

At no point were we given an emergency contact number of the driver which I think is essential in case of accidents, illness or just getting lost. I am at a loss why on the two stop overs, Singapore & Hong Kong, the guides gave us a contact number but for the main trip this was not deemed necessary!

New Zealand is a wonderful country to visit and we had many highlights, mainly on independent trips. I would highly recommend a tour of New Zealand but I would NOT use Distant Journeys unless they change from a 'tour captain' to a driver and separate guide to ****** you round the country.

I would add that the booking process was fantastic and the staff in the office most helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The flights, hotel accommodation and transfers all went without a hitch.


On 07-Feb-2019 the supplier responded:
We would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent holiday. We’re delighted to hear you had such a positive experience during the booking process and in subsequent conversations with our team in Ormskirk, as we pride ourselves on the service we offer our customers. Naturally, it is disappointing to hear you found the use of coach captains in New Zealand did not meet your expectations. We have used coach captains on our New Zealand tours for many years and we regularly receive great feedback from our guests regarding their performance. Please be assured we use only the most experienced and knowledgeable coach captains, who are trained to provide a full service of tour manager duties, commentary, along with their driving duties and many of our guests have echoed your words that they are both safe drivers and lovely to deal with. As we have discussed in our recent telephone and written correspondence, whilst a direct telephone number for coach captains is not provided, the coach captains may be contacted at any time through the hotel reception. In addition, we provide in each guest travel documentation pack a 24-hour emergency contact number for both our UK office and for our partners in New Zealand. Following our previous correspondence, we have briefed our coach captains to re-emphasise these contact methods to our guests at the beginning of their holiday in New Zealand. Thank you once again for your feedback.